Jazz Scenes

New takes on familiar film music for jazz quintet.

  • Jazz Scenes
  • Jazz Scenes
  • Jazz Scenes
  • Jazz Scenes

Download – $5 | Compact Disc – $12

Download includes the complete album in 320 kbps MP3 format, along with the CD artwork in PDF format.


Tom Artwick – saxophones/flute, arrangements

John D’Earth – trumpet

Bob Hallahan – piano

Paul Langosch – bass

Robert Jospé – drums

When selecting the pieces for this project, I quickly realized how much wonderful music the world of cinema has given us. How would I choose from such a large body of great works? Since these were to be jazz interpretations of movie themes, I wanted them to be conducive to perhaps the most noteworthy aspect of jazz — improvisation. While this narrowed the choice, there was still a very large number of pieces that fit the bill.

Of the remaining songs, many were very familiar. Some were too familiar, perhaps, as they had been performed myriad times by jazz artists. I felt like they didn’t need another rendering. Some of the songs on this recording may be familiar to you, and others may not. I hope we can introduce you to a few gems you may not have heard before.

My choices reflect a personal bias toward older film music, especially of the 1960s and ‘70s. These songs speak to me, both as a musician and as a person. I hope they speak to you, as well.

— Tom Artwick


  • Pure Imagination from Willy Wonka & The Chocolate Factory (1971)

  • Alfie from Alfie (1966)

  • Alfie’s Theme from Alfie (1966)

  • I Wish I Knew from Diamond Horseshoe (1945)

  • The Odd Couple from The Odd Couple (1968)

  • Charade from Charade (1963)

  • Chanson des Jumelles from Les Demoiselles de Rochefort (1967)

  • Chanson de Maxence from Les Demoiselles de Rochefort (1967)

  • Happy Feet from Walk Don’t Run (1966)

  • In the Heat of the Night from In the Heat of the Night (1967)

  • The Pink Panther Theme from The Pink Panther (1963)

  • Samba de Orfeu from Orfeu Negro (1959)


“A sparkling album, full of life and exceptionally well executed and recorded.” (Joe Lang, Jersey Jazz) read more…

I was unfamiliar with the name TOM ARTWICK until a CD titled Jazz Scenes: Music from the Movies (Max Frank Music – 005) arrived in the mail. It was sent to me by the disc’s producer Terry Vosbein, a colleague of Artwick on the music faculty at Washington and Lee University. The music on the album was recorded at the university’s John and Anne Wilson Hall in March of this year. Accompanying Artwick, who plays alto sax, tenor sax and flute, are trumpeter John D’Earth, pianist Bob Hallahan, bassist Paul Langosch and drummer Robert Jospé. The program is comprised of twelve compositions written for films. They open with the lovely Leslie Bricusse/Anthony Newley song “Pure Imagination” from Willie Wonka and the Chocolate Factory, and conclude with “Samba de Orfeu,” a Luiz Bonfa composition for Black Orpheus. Along the way they visit tunes by the likes of Quincy Jones, Henry Mancini and Michel Legrand. Artwick is a terrific player on all of his instruments. D’Earth has a superb tone. Hallahan is an exceptional pianist whether comping or soloing. Langosch, who spent many years as the bassist for Tony Bennett, is consistently strong, and Jospé is a kicking good drummer. Put it all together, and you have a sparkling album, full of life and exceptionally well executed and recorded.

“A charming concert, well-recorded and commendably performed.” (Jack Bowers, All About Jazz) read more…
A pleasant album of themes from various movies, seamlessly performed for an appreciative audience by five able musicians whose earnest labors affirm that there is an abundance of talented artists in this country whose endeavors pass largely unnoticed unless concerts such as this one are recorded and released so that a wider audience is able to hear and appreciate their proficiency.

Saxophonist Tom Artwick leads the quintet, and he is a pleasure to hear on alto sax, tenor or flute, as are his teammates, trumpeter John D’Earth, bassist Paul Langosch, drummer Robert Jospe and especially pianist Bob Hallahan, as engaging an accompanist as he is a soloist. Although the album notes don't say so, all of these gentlemen live and teach in Virginia, Hallahan at James Madison University, Langosch at Virginia Tech, D'Earth and Jospe at the University of Virginia, Artwick at Washington & Lee University in Lexington, where the concert was taped in March 2013.

In spite of a few curious choices ("The Odd Couple," "In the Heat of the Night"), Artwick and Co. make everything work, thanks in large measure to splendid charts and admirable blowing by all hands. Langosch introduces "Heat" with a minute-long unaccompanied bass solo, leading to the tune's bluesy core, epitomized first by Artwick's tenor and D'Earth's trumpet, then by Hallahan's evocative piano. Artwick opens the concert on alto ("Pure Imagination," "Alfie") and returns to it on Michel Legrand's "Chanson des Jumelles" and "Chanson de Maxence," both from the film Les Damoiselles de Rochefort. He plays flute on Mack Gordon / Harry Warren's lovely "I Wish I Knew," Quincy Jones' "Happy Feet" and Luiz Bonfa's "Samba de Orfeu," flute and tenor on "Charade," tenor elsewhere, in every instance deftly supported by D'Earth's assertive trumpet.

"Alfie," composed by Leslie Bricusse and Anthony Newley, is followed by Sonny Rollins' "Alfie's Theme," on which Atwick plays tenor, as he does on "The Odd Couple," "Heat of the Night" and Henry Mancini's well-known theme from "The Pink Panther." Hallahan is delightful on "Happy Feet," as he is whenever given room to solo. As for Langosch and Jospe, they work well with Hallahan to comprise a first-class rhythm section.

Jazz Scenes is a charming concert, well-recorded and commendably performed by musicians who may be relatively unknown but are well-schooled professionals (no pun intended) who know how to brighten a song.

Track Listing: Pure Imagination; Alfie; Alfie’s Theme; I Wish I Knew; The Odd Couple; Charade; Chanson des Jumelles; Chanson de Maxence; Happy Feet; In the Heat of the Night; The Pink Panther Theme; Samba de Orfeu.

Personnel: Tom Artwick: saxophones, flute; John D’Earth: trumpet; Bob Hallahan: piano; Paul Langosch: bass; Robert Jospe: drums.

Record Label: Max Frank Music

Max Frank Music does not collect or store any user information, except when a user makes a purchase to opts into our mailing list.