Come And Get It!

The debut recording of the Shenandoah Valley’s hottest Jazz unit.

Vosbein Magee Big Band

Perform the music from this CD. Purchase charts here.

  • Come and Get It
  • Come and Get It
  • Come and Get It
  • Come and Get It
  • Come and Get It
  • Come and Get It

Download – $5 | Compact Disc – $12

Download includes the complete album in 320 kbps MP3 format, along with the CD artwork in PDF format.


Tom Artwick, Greg Moody, Ken Hitchcock, Justin Berkley, Rachel Smith
Chris Magee, Brian Quakenbush, Shelby Carico, Eli Goldstein
Tom Lundberg, Tom McKenzie, Rick Lillard, Tyler Bare (bass trombone)
Wayne Gallops (piano), Brian Holt (bass), Rob Sanderl (drums)
Terry Vosbein

Terry Vosbein – Producer, mixing engineer
Graham Spice – Mixing and mastering engineer
John Taylor – Recording engineer

Photos by Patrick Hinely, Work/Play®

Having explored extended forms on my first big band album, Progressive Jazz 2009, and transforming a dark Broadway musical into a multi-movement jazz drama on my next, Fleet Street, I return to the medium here with an offering of catchy melodies, familiar song forms, and delicious solos. Primarily composed while living in Paris (hence some of the titles), there is a nostalgic quality to many of the tunes. Several were intended to spotlight specific musicians. All were meant to be fun.

Band members have contributed to the VMBB library since its inception. Included in our presentation here are two moods by saxophonist Greg Moody and a fiery swinger by my musical partner Chris Magee. All of the titles heard are originals, except for my arrangements of Janis Ian’s classic “At Seventeen,” and the Swing, fight song for Washington and Lee University, our home base.

This is a recording of a live concert. There were no second takes or overdubs. Drama, humor, depth, and whimsy. Jazz is like that. I hope you enjoy listening to our presentation. We had a ball playing it.

— Terry Vosbein
Staunton, Virginia

Take a look at some rehearsal photographs, shot by Max Frank Music's favorite photographer, Patrick Hinely.

Also, check out some videos from this concert.


1. Come and Get It! 3:34
2. I’m Gonna Tell You Something 5:35
3. Delta Queen (Greg Moody) 7:13
4. Reflections 7:42
5. Je ne sais quoi 4:40
6. Takin’ a Walk 5:07
7. Le Metro 4:20
8. Nostalgie 6:12
9. Been There, Done That (Chris Magee) 4:56
10. Holly Marie (Greg Moody) 5:41
11. Latin Quarter 5:20
12. Revelry on Rivoli 4:28
13. At Seventeen (Janis Ian, arr. Vosbein) 5:43
14. Washington and Lee Swing (Mark W. Sheafe, Clarence A. Robbins, and Thornton W. Allen, arr. Vosbein) 2:20

All titles composed and arranged by Terry Vosbein except as noted.


“Come and Get It! is a big-band session in the best sense of the phrase, and as such is warmly recommended.” (Jack Bowers, All About Jazz) read more…

One conclusive way to appraise an album—big-band or otherwise—is by the emotional response it arouses in the listener. Come and Get it!, the debut recording by the Virginia-based Vosbein Magee Big Band, gives rise to warmth and happiness for a number of reasons, not least of which are an unbroken series of bright and impressive themes, as well as the band's earnest and admirable performance before an appreciative audience at the historic Washington & Lee University in Lexington.

The Vosbein here is Terry, composer, arranger and guiding force behind the ensemble and its genial point of view. The Magee is Chris, the band's co-leader and dependable lead trumpet player. Vosbein is responsible for nine of the album's fourteen good-natured numbers, alto saxophonist Greg Moody two ("Delta Queen," "Holly Marie"), Magee one (the flag-waving "Been There, Done That"). The others are Janis Ian's ballad "Seventeen" and the school-song finale "Washington & Lee Swing," both neatly arranged by Vosbein. Five of Vosbein's originals have a French patois, as they were written while he was living in Paris.

Moody's "Delta Queen" is a New Orleans-style swinger with stalwart solos by Magee, trombonist Rick Lillard and pianist Wayne Gallops, "Holly Marie" an emphatic blues amplified by Moody, Lillard and the band's exemplary brass and wind sections. Drummer Rob Sanderl is a standout on "Been There, Done That," as are soloistsTommie McKenzie (trombone), Ken Hitchcock (tenor sax) and trumpeter Eli Goldstein. Alto Tom Artwick is showcased on Vosbein's dreamy "Reflections" and the light-hearted "Revelry on Rivoli," Hitchcock on the groovy "Je ne sais quoi," Magee on "Le Metro," which depicts in musical terms Paris's lively commuter rail system (a somewhat more laid-back version of Bud Powell's bop classic "Parisian Thoroughfare").

It all begins with a brace of impressive themes by Vosbein: the album's irrepressible title selection, superbly engineered by the ensemble to complement crisp solos by Gallops, Magee and trombonist Tom Lundberg, followed by "I'm Gonna Tell You Something," a Latin charmer on which Lundberg, Magee and Hitchcock share solo honors. At the concert's other end are Ian's sumptuous "Seventeen," on which Lundberg, Magee, Artwick and tenor Justin Berkley solo, and "W&L Swing," underlined by Sanderl's in-the-pocket drumming. Come and Get It! is a big-band session in the best sense of the phrase, and as such is warmly recommended.

Track Listing: Come and Get It!; I’m Gonna Tell You Something; Delta Queen; Reflections; Je ne sais quoi; Takin’ a Walk; Le Metro; Nostalgia; Been There, Done That; Holly Marie; Latin Quarter; Revelry on Rivoli; At Seventeen; Washington and Lee Swing.

Personnel: Terry Vosbein: director; Chris Magee: co-leader, trumpet; Brian Quakenbush: trumpet; Shelby Carico: trumpet; Eli Goldstein: trumpet; Tom Artwick: alto sax; Greg Moody: alto sax, alto flute, percussion; Ken Hitchcock: tenor sax; Justin Berkley: tenor sax; Rachel Smith: baritone sax; Tom McKenzie: trombone; Tom Lundberg: trombone; Rick Lillard: trombone; Tyler Bare: bass trombone; Wayne Gallops: piano; Brian Holt: bass; Rob Sanderl: drums.

Title: Come and Get It! | Year Released: 2019 | Record Label: Max Frank Music

“First rate big band sounds.” (Joe Lang, Jersey Jazz) read more…

Come and Get It! (Max Frank Music – 008) is the first release by the dynamic VOSBEIN MAGEE BIG BAND. The band is co-led by Terry Vosbein, who composed and arranged most of the 14 selections. The exceptions are two originals by reed player Greg Moody, and one by co-leader/trumpeter Chris Magee. Vosbein also provided arrangements for Janis Ian’s “At Seventeen” and the “Washington and Lee Swing,” the fight song for Washington and Lee University in Lexington, Virginia, the home base for the band where Vosbein is a Professor in the Music Department. Vosbein is a creative composer and arranger. On this album, he explores a variety of moods, always with a swing underpinning. His charts leave adequate space for the fine soloists on the band. If you come and get Come and Get It, you are in for some first rate big band sounds.

Max Frank Music does not collect or store any user information, except when a user makes a purchase to opts into our mailing list.